After Florida parents divorce, each will likely have the right to spend time with or have partial custody of their child. Before a child is moved more than 50 miles away from the principal residence, the parent who wishes to relocate with the child must file a petition that includes where the child will be moved and why a move is necessary, unless the other parent agrees to the move. All parties who have rights to the child may object to the petition in writing within 20 days of receiving it.
One question that might be asked in Florida and anywhere that U.S. family law matters are discussed is, "Why are more single men heading up households than ever before?" The answer may lie in the fact that judges in some states are following revamped guidelines for awarding child custody in divorce. The new rules handed down to family law courts by state legislatures redefine what is meant by "the best interests of the child," the gold standard of priorities in custody disputes.